Back in the Swing

Confession:  I have been burnt out here on the Homestead.  After letting go of the livestock and not putting in a garden it seems my interest has spiraled further down to the , “I don’t even want to go outside” stage.  The yard has grown wild and garbage  creeping close to the house, sigh, yes it is true.  I think the heat depresses me.  I know, I know, all you faithful homesteaders and Farmer’s Wives out there are rolling your eyes at me!  I’ve GOT to get some gumption.

Our orchard had not been thinned so the abundance of (ugly) apples is way to much to think about on a grand scale so I am pecking away at them.

Using this recipe we canned a slew of Apple Pie Filling, the smell alone was so fallish and motivating!

 

We didn’t even lose a jar!  I was very happy about this because so far all my Walmart jar purchases has resulted in at least one lost jar per canning process!  Ughh!

 

My plan for the filling might be more geared to cobblers and ice cream topping ~ My thinking is the apples may be too soft after the water bath for a fresh pie taste, anyone else?

 

Today is also my first born Son’s birthday!

Happy Birthday Karl!!

and so does Mom!

 

Leave a Reply

Content and Walking

Encouragement and Hope

From Cabin to Camelot

Musings of life back on the grid…

SKATINGMagazine

Official Online Home of SKATING Magazine

Farmer's Daughter

Living from Scratch

Inspire Wild Ideas

From Cooking To History Great Ideas Brought To Life

Hopeful Days

knitter ~ floral designer ~ quilter ~ reader ~ beach walker ~ spinner

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

